How to permanently delete WhatsApp messages and conversations?
The WhatsApp conversations can be deleted by holding a message and selecting “Delete”. But deleting the conversations from the app isn’t enough to permanently delete it. The conversations can be easily recovered. All we need to do is to reinstall the app and it will ask us if we want to restore the backup, and if we do, we will have again the deleted conversations. The backup contains the conversations from the last few days. Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on our situation) the backups can be saved in 2 places: on the Google account or in local files.
To delete permanently the WhatsApp conversations from the Google Drive account we have to follow these steps:
- Deleting the conversations from the app. It’s useless to delete the backups if the conversations aren’t deleted. WhatsApp will generate again a backup to the discussion list.
- Deleting the backups from the phone. To do this, we must acces our phone’s File Management (internal memory) and we search for the WhatsApp folder. Here we will have a subfolder named Backups. All the items from this folder must be deleted. Remember, when you will do this, you can say goodbye to the conversations.
- Deleting the conversations from the Google account. For this, we must access Google Drive from a computer (drive.google.com). Here we will have our storage from where we will delete all the backups (the backups will be here only if we accepted this when installing the app).
To disable the automatic backup option we have to go to Settings icon – Settings – Chats – Chat backup – Back up to Google Drive – Never
If you followed correctly the steps above, then you should have deleted the WhatsApp conversations for good. Remember, you will not be able to recover the conversations after following these steps.
How to delete a message sent to someone on WhatsApp?
If we want to delete a message which we sent to someone on WhatsApp (before he manages to see it, or even after) we must push on the message that we want to delete, select the Delete icon – Delete for everyone. After the message was deleted, it will be replace with the message “You deleted this message”. We can do this only in the first 7 minutes after sending the message, after that we will not be able to delete the message for the receiver, only for us.
For any question or problem, please leave a comment below.